top of page

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

and Others

The Adventure of the Speckled Band
Arthur Conan Doyle

Grimesby Roylott is the villainous stepfather in this locked room mystery in which Helen, a terrified young spinster, asks Holmes and Watson for help. Her sister died without identifiable cause after uttering mysterious last words. 

First published in 1892, part of Conan Doyle's The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes collection.

In 1890, a pawnbroker named Jabez Wilson comes to Holmes and Watson and tells them about a his unusual job with a group called 'The Red-Headed League'. 

First published in 1891, part of Conan Doyle's The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes collection.

The Adventure of the Red-Headed League
Arthur Conan Doyle
The Adventure of the Dancing Men
Arthur Conan Doyle

In the story, Holmes assists Mr. Hilton Cubitt of Ridling Thorpe Manor whose young wife is frightened by a mysterious series of stick figures depicted on notes left around their Derbyshire property.

First published in 1903, part of Conan Doyle's The Return of Sherlock Holmes collection.

The Adventure of the Empty House
Arthur Conan Doyle

The first Holmes story set after his supposed death at the Reichenbach Falls. The master of disguise's miraculous survival is explained as he solves the murder of a young gambler who was shot in a closed room.

First published in 1903, part of Conan Doyle's The Return of Sherlock Holmes collection.

The Final Problem
Arthur Conan Doyle

Originally intended it to be the last Sherlock Holmes story. The detective is pitted against Professor James Moriarty and both fall to their deaths while locked in mortal combat, or do they?

First published in 1893, part of Conan Doyle's The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes collection.


A Study in Scarlet
Arthur Conan Doyle

Dr John Watson - and millions of readers - meet Sherlock Holmes. They find a dead man, whose face is contorted in horror, and yet there’s no sign of violence, only a word written in blood. Holmes’s brilliant analytical skills soon go to work. 

First published 1887.


Silver Blaze
Arthur Conan Doyle

The disappearance of a famous race horse on the eve of an important race, and on the apparent murder of its trainer, leads Holmes to the 'curious incident of the dog in the night-time'.

First published in 1892, part of Conan Doyle's The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes collection 1893.

The Blue Carbuncle
Arthur Conan Doyle

Sherlock Holmes and Dr John Watson try to determine how a fabulous blue carbuncle found its way down the gullet of a goose. All after Inspector Peterson witnesses men attacking a man with a hat and the Christmas goose.

First published in 1892, part of Conan Doyle's The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes collection.

The Hound of the Baskervilles
Arthur Conan Doyle

The legend of the devil-beast that roams the mist-enshrouded moors around Baskerville Hall warns the descendants of the Baskerville family never to venture out there. Holmes and Watson return to investigate this supposed family curse.

First published in 1902.

The Sign of Four
Arthur Conan Doyle

Sherlock Holmes investigates a case involving a beautiful damsel in distress, mysterious disappearances, a murder, a strange and lustrous pearl, a peculiar map, four desperate villains and an exotic treasure.

First published in 1890.

Ten Years Beyond Baker Street
Cay Van Ash

Sherlock Holmes is lured out of retirement to aid Dr. Petrie in the search for his friend Nayland Smith. The trail takes Holmes from London to the Welsh coast and pits him against an arch-criminal, the inventive Dr. Fu Manchu. 

First published in 1984.

The Adventure of The Unquiet Hamlet
Vincent Starrett

A book collector needs help to find a first folio of Hamlet, written by Shakespeare’s own hand. Holmes and Watson discover that rare-book collectors can be a cunning and diabolical as any villain created by the Bard.

First published in 1920.

The Giant Rat of Sumatra
Richard Boyer

Against Holmes’s wishes, Watson kept the tale of The Giant Rat of Sumatra a secret. However before he died he arranged that the bizarre story of the giant rat should be held in the vaults of a London bank until all the protagonists were dead... First published in 1976.

The Last Sherlock Holmes Story
Michael Dibdin

The novel is an account of Holmes' attempt to solve the Jack the Ripper murders. Fifty years after Watson's death, a packet of papers, written by the doctor himself, lay hidden in a locked box. They contain a report of the case of Jack the Ripper. First published in 1978.

The Seven-Per-Cent Solution
Nicholas Meyer

Watson's account of the collaboration of Holmes and Sigmund Freud on a case of conspiracy that threatens millions of lives. Revealing the real identity of Moriarty, the dark secret shared by Sherlock and Mycroft, and the detetctive's true whereabouts when the world believed him to be dead. First published 1974.

The Beekeeper's Apprentice
Laurie R King

The beekeeper in question is the long retired Sherlock Holmes. An audacious teenage girl, Miss Mary Russell, becomes his pupil in theskills of deduction and disguises. But when an elusive villain enters the picture, their partnership is put to the test. First published in 1994.

Dust and shadow
Lindsay Faye

Watson offers a tale unearthed after generations of lore: the harrowing story of Sherlock Holmes's attempt to hunt down Jack the Ripper. Holmes must use all his resources in a desperate race to find the man known as 'The Knife' before it is too late. First published in 2009.

The Veiled Detective
David Stuart Davies

A young Holmes, arriving in London to begin his career as a private detective, catches the eye of a certain master criminal. A doctor, court martialed and dispatched from Afghanistan, becomed Holmes' companion. There's a nod to many of Conan Doyle's early cases. First published 2004.

A Slight Trick of the Mind
Mitch Cullin

Holmes is ninety-three, unable to walk without a cane, and his memory has begun to fail. He lives with a housekeeper and her son, and talks to the son about his life before he forgets it entirely.

First published in 2005.

The House of Silk
Anthony Horowitz

Winter in London,1890. A gentleman begs Holmes and Watson for help. He claims he's being stalked by a scar-faced man. Intrigued, they take the case and find themselves drawn into a series of puzzling and sinister events leading to the Boston's criminal underworld.

First published 2011.

Great Sherlock Holmes Stories by

bottom of page